Main Content

Cadet Programs

The Cadet Program is a comprehensive program for youth (12-21) that stresses aerospace education, leadership, self-confidence, character development, physical education, and community service. As cadets advance through the ranks, they also progress through four stages of development.

1. The Learning Phase, introduces cadets to the CAP program, and cadets who pass all requirements receive the Wright Brothers award.

2. The Leadership Phase, begins placing more responsibility on cadets as leaders of newer cadets. Cadets who complete The Leadership Phase receive their Mitchell Award, and are eligible for advanced promotion upon enlisting in the military.

3. The Command Phase, places cadets directly in command of other cadets, allowing cadets to accomplish tasks through their staff members for the first time. Cadets who complete The Command Phase are awarded the Earhart Award.

4. The Executive Phase is the last phase of the cadet program, and focus cadets on the operations of an entire unit. Cadets completing the command phase are awarded the Eager Award, and may be awarded the Spaatz Award upon passing an extensive cumulative test.

As cadets progress through the program, they are placed in charge of lower ranking cadets. Cadet's aren't given full reign over the others, but instead are expected to instruct classes and mentor each other.

Cadet's Pledge

"I pledge that I will serve faithfully in the Civil Air Patrol Cadet Program, and that I will attend meetings regularly, participate actively in unit activities, obey my officers, wear my uniform properly, and advance my education and training rapidly to prepare myself to be of service to my community, state, and nation."

New Cadet Guide

Cadet Library


© 2021 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.